WFLA named ‘Station of the Year’ by Florida Associated Press

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) – WFLA News Channel 8 was named large market “Station of the Year” by the Florida Associated Press.

WFLA received the award on Saturday when the Florida Associated Press revealed the winners of its 2017 awards.

38 television stations entered 536 entries in the competition. WFLA was honored with numerous awards.

WFLA placed 1st in the following categories for large market television stations:

  • Station of the Year: WFLA News Team
  • Election Coverage: “Your Vote Counts,” WFLA News Team
  • Weather Reporting: “Killer Tornado Outbreak,” WFLA News Team
  • Website/Digital: WFLA Digital Team
  • Continuing Coverage: “Crater Contamination,” Steve Andrews and Gordon Dempsey
  • Series/Franchise Reporting: “You Paid For It,” Mark Douglas and Michael Egger

WFLA was runner-up in the following categories:

  • Breaking News: “Killer Tornadoes,” WFLA News Team
  • Investigative: “A Trust Violated,” Steve Andrews and Gordon Dempsey


 provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s