Uber wants to track your location – after you’ve been dropped off

Uber
AP file photo

(WFLA) – The internet had been abuzz this week after it was revealed Uber’s new update lets the app track user location data after riders have been dropped off.

When users update the Uber app, they are asked to accept this policy.

Here’s how NPR described the change:

“Previously, Uber only collected data from the user if the rider had the application open. Now, if a rider calls for an Uber and closes the app, Uber says it will continue to collect location data up until five minutes after the ride ends. That means Uber can see where you end up after you leave the car.”

Uber’s website says the goal is to improve customer service, and make pickups and drop-offs better.

Privacy advocates have expressed concern about the update. The Electronic Privacy Information Center filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission.

WFLA.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s