21 recipients receiving Presidential Medal of Freedom

Ellen DeGeneres
AP File Photo

WASHINGTON (WBAY) – The Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor, will be presented to 21 recipients next week.

President Barack Obama made the announcement on Wednesday. The list is made up of artists, athletes and philanthropists. The awards will be presented at the White House on Tuesday, Nov. 22.

Here is the list of recipients:

  1. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
  2. Elouise Cobell (posthumous)
  3. Ellen DeGeneres
  4. Robert De Niro
  5. Richard Garwin
  6. Bill Gates
  7. Melinda Gates
  8. Frank Gehry
  9. Margaret H. Hamilton
  10. Tom Hanks
  11. Grace Hopper (posthumous)
  12. Michael Jordan
  13. Maya Lin
  14. Lorne Michaels
  15. Newt Minow
  16. Eduardo Padrón
  17. Robert Redford
  18. Diana Ross
  19. Vin Scully
  20. Bruce Springsteen
  21. Cicely Tyson

According to the White House, the Presidential Medal of Freedom is presented to people who have made meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

WFLA.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s