Facebook accidentally told some users that they died

Facebook

SAN FRANCISCO (WFLA) – An apparent glitch on the social network appeared to turn regular Facebook pages into memorials.

A Facebook representative told NBC News that, “for a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized profiles was mistakenly posted to other accounts.”

While not every user was affected by the glitch, an undisclosed number of users were labeled as “deceased.”  Even Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s CEO, appeared to have been affected.

Users reported that ‘Memorialized‘ banners appeared at the top accounts and pages of individuals that read,  “We hope people who love Mark will find comfort in the things others share to remember and celebrate his life.”

Facebook allows loved ones to “Memorialize” the account of friends and family who had passed away, by keeping their page on the social site so individuals can pay tribute to their life.

“This was a terrible error that we have now fixed,” the Facebook representative told NBC News. “We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it.”

 

WFLA.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s