U.S. Olympic rookies lead 100m backstroke field

Murphy, Plummer lead 100m backstroke field

Ryan Murphy

First-time Olympians Ryan Murphy and David Plummer of Team USA lead the pack after the 100m backstroke semifinals. Murphy and Plummer advance to Monday’s final in first and second place, respectively, ahead of 2015 world champion Mitch Larkin of Australia.

Murphy clocked 52.49 seconds, separated by 0.01 from Plummer’s time. Larkin was two tenths of a second back with a time of 52.70 seconds.

Also in the field is 2012 Olympic bronze medalist in the event, Ryosuke Irie of Japan.

Defending Olympic champion, Matt Grevers, did not qualify to defend his gold from the U.S. Trials in June.

WFLA.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s